The "20-Hour Rule"

The "20-Hour Rule"

ยท

4 min read

Hello ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป everyone, are you also a fan of memes? Well, I like memes very much. Because these take very little time to read, most of these are understandable by just seeing them and they are mostly funny ๐Ÿ˜„ like this one ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿป and relatable to our lives. And being happy while learning is the most wonderful feeling.

html-meme.jpg

Well to be frank I'm new to this Writing Blog stuff. I usually don't write much except for my notes. But writing is also a skill like singing, dancing, making people laugh, etc. If you want to learn dance start dancing. If you want to learn writing start writing it's simple as that.

We heard several quotes like There is always something to learn from everyone you cross paths with. There's always someone who gets inspired by your story, your writing, or anything you do on the Internet. So never think much, just start writing about your funny stories that you have in your mind, just start posting photos of that awesomely cute kitten that you recently bought ๐Ÿ˜ and whatnot.

When I started coding, I got amazed at how developers around the world are connected via communities ๐Ÿ˜ƒ. I joined some communities as well and got to know about how much it is important to write and showcase your work while learning to code. We heard about open-source right, but how it's been so successful is because of willingness to learn from others and share what you are learning with your fellow mates, friends, families, i.e. with the World.


10,000-Hour Rule ๐Ÿ•™

Do you know the famous 10,000-Hour rule? It states that if we have practiced any skill in a correct way for 10,000 hours we can achieve world-class expertise in that skill. Outliers: The Story of Success written by Malcolm Gladwell claims this rule with a lot of examples of peoples who have achieved expertise in their domains.

Knowing this actually made me overwhelmed. Investing this much time in something is a very long process. This kind of made me lazy and scared at the same time. As I was learning to code from various resources and trying to consume a lot of content without practicing ๐Ÿ˜„, this caused me procrastination. But this was all I was thinking from my emotional side. The truth is we don't have to be an expert on every skill or every language that we're learning. We just need to know about it so much that we can start using that skill.


20-Hour Rule โณ

From not knowing anything to intermediate level in almost any skill needs at least 20 hours of practicing in the correct way. Don't believe me right ๐Ÿ˜€? Well, there's a wonderful talk by Josh Kaufman => The First 20 Hours -- how to learn anything which literally inspired me to apply the 20-hour rule in my learnings.

The summary from the above video is as follows: 4 simple steps

  1. => Deconstruct the skill

    Do a little research on what and how much to learn on that skill to actually start working on small projects.

  2. => Learn enough to self-correct

    Pick one or two resources and learn just enough so that you should be able to start practicing.

  3. => Remove barriers to practice

    Remove all distractions as this 20 hour needs to be fully committed to that skill. If you are committed to 1 hour every day for 20 days then use it to its full potential.

  4. => Practice for at least 20 hours

    This does not include theories and all. Pure practice required for at least 20 hours.

In the beginning, even learning Html was overwhelming for me. As I started learning Html by reading every tag from w3Schools.com. Later I realized that it's ok not to know about all the tags. Literally, I have used around 15-20 tags until now in my projects ๐Ÿ˜€.

I started applying the rule in my day-to-day learnings because I needed to test it. And as a result, I'm really enjoying this way of learning. Until now I learned sketching, doodling as my non-technical part. And learned JavaScript, MERN-Stack & Basic Data Structures from the technical side by working on at least 20 hours on each of them by practicing on a significant amount of projects. Now that I'm comfortable with these skills, I'm investing my time to dive a little deep into them.

When we feel we have more time to learn, most of us often give up in the middle. This 20-hour rule will definitely not give you much time to think ๐Ÿ˜„.

Thank you for staying with me until now ๐Ÿ˜Š. I wanted to share this with everyone so that whoever facing little challenges in the first place while learning anything. Just give 20 hours of good practice to it and see the magic โœจ. That's it. Have fun ๐Ÿ˜‡ Bbye ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป.